Home > About AE&LC > Accreditation

Global-Mark ®

Accreditation ensures that an independent body continually reviews the Centre. This ensures not only that national guidelines are met, but also that patients receive the best possible care in a facility committed to continuous improvements in all aspects of clinical care. All of our procedures are carried out in a full theatre environment, ensuring that the highest standards are maintained at all times.
In 1999, Adelaide Eye & Laser Centre achieved accreditation for outstanding patient care for both cataract surgery and excimer laser surgery through the ACHS Evaluation and Quality Improvement Program (EQuIP). The Centre maintained these standards through a regular review process. In April 2008 accreditation was awarded through Global-Mark® using International Standards Organisation 9001 Quality Management Systems and the National Safety and Health Service Standards (NSQHSS).
We are always open to comments or suggestions from patients and their carers, with consumer participation playing a large role in continual improvement in quality services and processes. 
Visit the Global-Mark® website

National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Healthcare developed the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards to improve the quality of health service provision in Australia.  The Standards provide a nationally consistent statement of the level of care consumers should be able to expect from health services.
There are 10 NSQHS Standards focusing on areas that are essential to drive the implementation and use of safety and quality systems:
  1. Governance for Safety and Quality in Health Service Organisations
  2. Partnering with Consumers
  3. Preventing and Controlling Healthcare Associated Infections
  4. Medication Safety
  5. Patient Identification and Procedure Matching
  6. Clinical Handover
  7. Blood and Blood Products
  8. Preventing and Managing Pressure Injuries
  9. Recognising and Responding to Clinical Deterioration in Acute Health Care
  10. Preventing Falls and Harm from Falls
The Standards have been designed for use by all health services.
Health service organisations can use the Standards as part of their internal quality assurance mechanisms or as part of an external accreditation process.
See The Commission's website at: http://www.safetyandquality.gov.au/